Overcoming Wrath as One of the Seven Deadly Sins

In the main blog post, Origins of the Seven Deadly Sins, Wrath is the fifth deadly sin and is described as thus: 

5. Wrath
Latin: Ira, Animal: Bear, Colour: Red
The desire to hurt someone is known as wrath. It differs from anger in that it is a deeper desire to cause pain whereas anger is sudden burst of rebellion which calms down.

Wrath as 1 of the 7 Deadly Sins

Wrath as 1 of the 7 Deadly Sins

So what exactly is WRATH?

In Dante’s words Wrath is “love of justice perverted to revenge and spite”. Wrath is a strong form of anger and hatred. It is a strong desire or wish to harm other people and extends beyond a call to justice. Wrath is so strong that it is actually at the heart of many unjust plots of revenge which end up seriously harming other people and even extend to murder.

Various Definitions of Wrath:

  • From the Latin word Ira
  • It is a deep type of rage, bordering on evil
  • Wrath is much stronger than anger
  • This emotion is a desire to seek revenge
  • Concerned with a deep sense of righteousness

Why is Wrath classed as a Sin and by Whom?

In Christianity, wrath has been distinguished as a sin because it causes an individual to seek unfair revenge on other people, causing destruction and pain. Wrath not only harms others but when the passion of the individual calms it causes the individual to usually feel regret as their actions may have been taken too far.

Wrath compared to other Emotions:

Although wrath is in effect a form of anger, it differs in that it goes beyond just feeling angry. It is the desire to seek revenge to actively cause destruction and mayhem in another person’s life. It can end ultimately in murder if it remains unchecked. Anger eventually calms down whereas wrath is the continuation or a way of plotting an ultimately cruel and evil revenge. Wrath is an active way of seeking to harm other people without a care as to the consequences. It is a warped type of desire resulting in unjust behaviour.

Overcoming Wrath: 

  • How can you tell you are experiencing wrath? You can distinguish between anger and wrath by asking yourself if your anger is justified. Even though your anger maybe justifiable, think about whether the punishment you are thinking of dishing out is a justified way of retaliating? Does the desire to seek revenge overtake your natural way of thought? Also think about the end result of what you are about to undertake.
  • Wrath runs far deeper than simply being annoyed at another person. It seeks to punish severely the person who has wronged you in whatever it is they have done. It takes a big heart to understand the viewpoint of another person. Simply questioning the desire to punish others is one of the first steps towards controlling the desire to seek revenge.
  • The feeling of wrath can actually be directed inwardly at yourself instead of another individual. So you need to address this problem as well. In some cases people experiencing wrath can cause self-harm. In such cases wrath is more harmful to the self than to others. This becomes self-destructive behaviour.
  • If you feel a strong desire to harm someone, focus on what would happen realistically if you were to carry out the evil act. Really think about the consequences. Chances are you will realise that your thoughts have become unrealistic and you are acting on a whim. Picture an alternative scene.
  • Focus on forgiveness and the benefits of this instead of the sweet taste of revenge. After all revenge is a temporary measure and forgiveness is a long term solution. You remain a prisoner until you let go. Focus on the freedom of letting go of the desire to seek revenge.
  • Do other things to empower yourself as this will help you to let go of the desire to seek revenge. When you feel empowered you reduce the chances of focusing on your feelings of frustration and powerlessness, which cause the feeling of wrath in the first place.

The Seven Deadly Sins Series

This begins with “Origins of the Seven Deadly Sins

1. Overcoming Lust as One of the Seven Deadly Sins  |  2. Overcoming Gluttony as One of the Seven Deadly Sins |  3. Overcoming Greed as One of the Seven Deadly Sins | 4. Overcoming Sloth as One of the Seven Deadly Sins  | 6. Overcoming Envy as One of the Seven Deadly Sins |  7. Overcoming Pride as One of the Seven Deadly Sins |

Related Posts:  

HOME  |  What is Prayer?  |  Ghost of the Past  |  Mind-set  |  Dreams |  Believe in Yourself  |  Aims for Life  |  Self-respect  |  Be Yourself  |  Actions Speak Louder than Words  |  Emotional Maturity  |  Beauty and the Beast | Spiritual Awakening  | Self-Care |

For a List of All Articles on this Website: SITEMAP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>